Gallery 2002

A selection of photos from Ythan Challenge 2002


The 2002 race was won by Metro Aberdeen runner Robert Taylor, 44, who crossed the line in 46 minutes and 30 seconds. In second place was his Metro team-mate Philip Cowie, 47, in 46:42, and in third was John Buchan, 44, who runs with Aberdeen-based Cosmic Hillbashers.

Leading the women was Aberdeen AAC’s Laura Mahady, 44, who took the honours in 55:06. She was closely followed by Donna Unwin, 27, in 55:35, and Julie Stephen, 30, in 56:37.

The team prize was taken by the Banff-based Fledglings, comprising leader Philip McKay, Alistair Mackinnon, Dianne McKay and Paul Westmorland. Aberdeen Hash House Harriers Elite team of Laura Mahady, Dick Bird, Robin Leith and Martin Richmond came second, with Stonehaven Rockets 1 third. They comprised leader Morag Howard and Richard Burton, Marie McDonald and Bert McIntosh.

The last runner came home in 1:42:57, and only six competitors failed to finish.

Click on images to enlarge